Lucky Stars!

DSC_5464

Hey Hey!! 😀

I thought I would share a sweet little gift idea that am planning to give my Special Someone.

These Lucky stars are a form of Japanese origami although it has been said to have been called Chinese lucky stars. (If you do know about these lucky stars please leave a comment below.)

According to a lot of websites keeping a certain number of these lucky stars in jars has a certain meaning and can be given to loved ones as a gift. for good luck. The numbers however a slightly different according to different websites but I will show you what I used (I decided to go for the big one and made 1314. It took me a month as I just used to do around 50 a day before bed or something. I’d say each one takes just under a minute to make).

1 star: The only one
2 stars: Happy Couple
9 stars: Love for a long time
55 stars: Love you with no regrets
99 stars: May the friendship/love last forever
101 stars: You are the one
365/366 stars: Whole year of blessings
520 stars: I love you
548 stars: Can’t stop loving you
999 stars: Endless love
1314 stars: Eternity of love

DSC_5463There are lots of different styles of designs for the lucky stars paper.  On the right is a photo of the lucky star paper strips which you use to make the lucky stars, you can buy these in strips online(ebay?) or make your own. Some should come with the instructions on the packet as you can see below.

DSC_5467DSC_5469

It may look a little complicated but in fact it is the easiest origami I have seen. It’s quite fun and addictive but just be careful of getting cramp in your fingers!

Share Your Thoughts! 😀

X x x

 

Leave a Reply

